Nineteen countries are participating in the global project from across all regions: Algeria, Bangladesh, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Gambia, Honduras, Liberia, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Paraguay, Peru, St. Lucia, Togo, Turkmenistan, and Uruguay.

Participating countries undertake five main activities at the national level in support of these goals:

  1. Organisation of a national Inter-Ministerial dialogue on the Bali Action Plan negotiations and the linkages to national climate actions;
  2. Assessment (six to eight months) of investment and financial flows to address climate change for up to three key sectors and/or economic activities and enhance sectoral planning capacity to address climate change;
  3. Identification of the key sectors to be assessed and preparation of national issues papers on the sectors that provide background inputs to activities 1 & 2;
  4. Assessment of national capacity to implement any identified actions from the investment and financial flows work; and
  5. Organisation of a national workshop to present the results of the investment and financial flows assessment and agree on process for moving ahead.

To facilitate this work, many guidance materials have been developed. Each participating country also has a private group work area as well as a public project area.

In 2009, the UNDP Regional Bureau for Latin America & the Caribbean (LAC) expanded on the global project with a regional project for Ibero-America, Climate Policy 2012, which provides technical support to national policy makers and UNDP Country Offices and strengthens capacity on budgetary issues related to the post-2012 climate regime. The additional countries supported by Climate Policy 2012 are: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, and Venezuela. Other activities include development of negotiating skills for younger delegates and studies on the economics of climate change (in collaboration with ECLAC). Click here for more information.